Time and resolutions

I’ve never understood why we make resolutions in January.

Sure, it’s a new start to the calendar year, and in the human construct of time this minute increase in years helps some create a mental divide between who we were yesterday and who we will try to be tomorrow. 

But let’s be honest.

Are you really going to start running in the snow on Jan. 1? Am I actually going to start cooking clean and healthy foods in the middle of winter, when all I want is rich, fatty foods to keep me lusciously warm? And please. Don’t even get me started about trying to wake up earlier for productivity when the sun’s not even up yet.

So not happening.

But why not start a tradition for mid-year resolutions? This is the time of year when the days are long, the mornings are bright, and the produce is fresh. This is the prime time of the year to look forward with hope when everything in the natural world is blooming around us.

My resolution is to cook more. To eat healthier. To reinvigorate my love for photography. So I’m starting a food blog.

What’s your summer resolution?

So Voodoo. So happy.

So Voodoo. So happy.

I'm a child.

I’m a child.

Oh, I’m Randi, by the way.

If we’ve never met, it’s a pleasure to meet you now. I think about food day in and day out, so it was only a matter of time before I started putting all of these bizarre thoughts into words, and started creating content to add to the wonderful world of food bloggers.

I’ll probably talk about other things from time to time. Like travel, or the environment, and perhaps even politics. These are all important things that bear discussing. But don’t worry – it always comes back to food in the end for me.

I like to think of myself as an adventurer, but not in the traditional climbing mountains and jumping off waterfalls sense. That stuff is scary, and that’s how you break things.

I love to travel. I love to eat. I love to adventure. For me, a life where I’m not constantly engaging, learning, experimenting, adventuring is scary too. As I pay back my student loans from undergrad (…yay), I’m focusing on adventuring within a limited budget. Local travel and kitchen adventures are becoming the best routes to discovery, and I hope to inspire you as well.

So here begins another adventure!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

